How many of you have experienced a death in your family or of a friend? Anyone
lost a job in the room? Anyone suffered a divorce? A breakup? A child leaving
home to go college or get married? Have a special needs child or parent with
dementia or cancer? For those with children, did you notice your first-born’s
reaction when another sibling came along? All of these situations involve some
type of loss. The natural and normal response to any type of loss is grief.
Grief is an inevitable part of life. It knows no zip code. It touches us all at some
point in our lives and happens more than once. It is unpredictable. It is not
mental illness or a sign of weakness. Imagine that grief is the trunk of a tree and
the branches are endless and denote all the emotions associated with grief.

Can anyone name some of the emotions associated with grief? Why do we
grieve? We grieve because we loved the person or that thing added value to our
lives. No one can tell you when or how to grieve because your grief journey is
unique to you. Often hear that there are 5 stages of grief as if you go through
those 5 stages and it is over. 1. Denial; 2. Anger; 3. Bargaining; 4. Depression; 5.
Acceptance. Most times the stages don’t occur in order. Some people never
experience depression. Or they are angry before you may work through denial.
Losses that are traumatic may require the person to work through shock before
denial. There is no right order; your journey is unique to you. No one knows the
relationship you had with that person or thing but you.

Has anyone been taught how to grieve? No, because we live in a grief avoidance
society. When someone has a baby, they are allowed to take off work for
months, but when someone close to us dies, you may only get a few days to plan
and attend the funeral. On average, it takes about 5 to 8 years to recover from
the loss of a loved one. With the way society views grief, avoidance mode, you
may ask how does one get past grief. The only way out of grief is through it; you
must take action and work through your grief to overcome it. That is where the
concept of grief coaching comes in.

We’ve defined grief. So, what is coaching? Coaching is a skill, not a profession. It
is not therapy, because not everyone needs therapy after experiencing loss. The
method behind coaching is client empowerment. The client is the expert in their
experience, and the coach is the expert in facilitating inquiry – asking powerful
questions. The client interprets their own situation through the questions asked
and finds their own answer. The focus is on the present moment and the future.
The coach creates safe space for clients to shift their focus from being powerless
to walking in complete power in all areas of their lives. Coaching is solutions
focused moving the client from functional to powerful. Coaching is unlike therapy
where the focus is healing and moving the client from dysfunctional to functional.

What is grief coaching? It a partnership where the coach creates safe space for
the client to share their grief no matter where they are on their journey. The
coach helps the client navigate through the wilderness of their grief journey so
the client can shift from grief to gratitude in the shortest time possible. Are you
feeling stuck as a result of experiencing loss in your life? As a certified grief coach,
I will help you to shift your focus from the loss and pain so that in your own
unique way when you are ready to walk through your grief and embrace meaning
and purpose in your life again or for the first time.


Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 91931
Washington, DC 20090

Customer Service:

Business Voicemail:

(240) 342-6744


Business Hours: Monday – Friday
9 – 5 ET Evenings/Weekends
By Appointment Only

Privacy Policy | Disclaimer 

Copyright © 2018 The H-Squared Group, LLC. 

All Rights Reserved.